Leave a Comment

The Fred Haskins Award Announced at NCAA National Championship

BRADENTON, Fla – The University of Georgia Bulldogs have a reason to celebrate. Not only is the team playing their best golf all year – on the biggest collegiate stage – Lee McCoy was named Runner-up for the Fred Haskins Award.
Despite UGA’s slip to third place during today’s final round, which had solid performances from both the University of Illinois (6-under) and Vanderbilt (3-under), and teams set to compete in match play tomorrow.

However, the tournament over for this year’s winner of the Fred Haskins Award – Stanford’s Maverick McNealy – boasting a season which included nine top-10 finishes, six victories, a 68.70 overall stroke average, the Pac-12 Championship, and Pac-12 Player of the Year. He is the third player from Stanford to win the award. Other winners include Patrick Rodgers (2014) and Tiger Woods (1996).

The award is given to the nation’s most outstanding golfer as selected by his peers, coaches and the golf media.
McNealy’s accomplishments will earn him a sponsor’s exemption to compete in The Greenbrier Classic on the PGA TOUR.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s